O2 sensor wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

87_442

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 30, 2014
Glassboro, NJ
This is my first time posting on here. So excuse if it seems a little weird.
I'm building a custom exhaust on my 442 and need help with tech. A friend of mine was talking to me about using a obd2 oxygen sensor on the exhaust. Reason he suggested that is because the heddman header I installed didn't have an o2 sensor bung. I plan on using a reducer with said bung welded in, now I need to know how to wire it up. Keep in mind I'm electrically illiterate. So if it could be broken down Barney style I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks in advance,
Bryan

liquidh8

Comic Book Super Hero
Are you running fuel injection? The factory CCC computer with the feedback carb?

Oct 14, 2008
Melville,Saskatchewan
He is talking the 3 wire heated oxygen sensor. I believe one wire is signal, one 12 volt key on and the other ground. Depends on which sensor you use, the universal sensors have two wires the same colour and one different. The single, different colour wire attaches to your factory sensor wire and the other two can be either power or ground. Hopes this helps. You will gain some power but unfortunately Olds went severely backwards with the swirl port 307 and this is from a huge SBO guy.

liquidh8

Comic Book Super Hero
olds307 and 403 said:
He is talking the 3 wire heated oxygen sensor. I believe one wire is signal, one 12 volt key on and the other ground. Depends on which sensor you use, the universal sensors have two wires the same colour and one different. The single, different colour wire attaches to your factory sensor wire and the other two can be either power or ground. Hopes this helps. You will gain some power but unfortunately Olds went severely backwards with the swirl port 307 and this is from a huge SBO guy.

There are 1 wire, 2 wire, 3 wire and 4 wire. Narrow band or wide band.