3.8 Buick V6 to 3800 series 2 V6 Swap?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pose_442

Greasemonkey
Feb 12, 2007
I may may have access to an 82 Regal with a FUBAR Buick V6. An idea I had for an engine swap was using a 3800 series 2 and 4L60-E out of an 96-up F-body. Looking for inexpensive reliability and drivability, and of course, something different.

Has anyone have any insight on motor mounts and if this would be relatively easy swap since the motors are very similar?

Thanks in advance.

Uncletruck

Master Mechanic
Apr 22, 2007
Erie, PA
Just going off the top of my head here, but I have never seen a FWD 3800 swapped in to a G body with RWD. Now I state I'm no expert, but I doubt the block bolt pattern for the FWD 4L60E transaxle will match up to any of the common RWD transmissions used with a G body. Then you have to wonder about the flywheel and matching to a torque convertor. And as far as engine mounts, as they are very different for FWD setup, I'm doubtful you'll find a practical way to get the engine to fit up the G body frame. You would also then have to use electric cooling. If you are a master at fabrication you can probably get all this to work, but let's assume as you are asking that is not the case. Want a much easier, strong, economical V6 swap? Try a 4.3 Chevy out of a pickup or Astro van. This can be done with minimal screwing around, mainly just converting to fuel injection, and will yield an engine with about 180-190 HP, more HP than a stock Rochester carbureted 350 Chevy V8 had in the G body time period.

Boy-Racers are fun for the track and on weekends, but with gas close to or over $3.00 a gallon and no relief in sight, getting decent performance with 16-18 MPG to boot is a nice thing if you like to drive your old G every day.
-Mark-

SBCregal

Master Mechanic
Jan 22, 2006
all f-bodies are RWD