3rd gen front rotors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bullett801

Apprentice
Sep 2, 2019
Hey guys, I am new to the forum, so glad to be here. I am currently restoring a 78 Monte Carlo and its been quite the challenge!! Even though I have been a mechanic for over 25 years!! So my current issue is the front rotors. I am trying to put a set from a 79 on the spindle of a 78. I was told it couldn't be done without some part changes, and I have made some good headway. I sleeved the 78 spindle ( my brother is a tool and die maker) with a custom sleeve, but now the bearing rides further out on the spindle and not allowing the castle nut and washer to fit on properly. I can't get the castle nut even close to the hole for the cotter pin to go through unless i put the castle nut on backwards, and then can barley get half the castle nut threaded on the spindle. I was thinking of machining the castle nut thinner, of trying to find a thinner one, or possibly drilling a new hole in the spindle for the cotter pin.

Have any of you tried to do this with success? If so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I know all about the difference in the spindles, so no need to waste time typing out why it won't work. The reason I am doing this is because for a 78 cross drilled and slotted rotors and super expensive, where for a 79 they are a dime a dozen. Thanks for any and all advice guys, and if I can help out in anyway please don't hesitate to ask.

gnvair

Royal Smart Person
Sep 1, 2018
Southern New Jersey near Philly
The 78 A body set up are a 1 year only spindle/rotor and wheel bearing combo. The design was updated with larger bearings that sat in a different spot on the spindle shaft in 79. I would locate a set of the 79-88 spindles and use the more readily available rotors and bearings. Just be aware that the studs were 7/16" std thread up to 1981 and 12mm metric 1982-up. The 78 model year A bodies had a lot of 1 year only items.

• Agree
Reactions: 5 users

ssn696