7.5 posi and carrier swap- how far do i really need to go?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silent viewer

Royal Smart Person
May 9, 2007
I have a stock 7.5 sitting here as a spare right now, I have a posi carrier out of a 82 regal, a set of 3.42 gears out of a bravada, ring gear spacer and a rear disc brake setup from a Camaro. The car has a mild 355 chevy and th350 transmission being used for street use only. I am wanting to get his carrier and gear set swapped in but I have never done a rear end before, I have rebuilt just about everything you can find on a car including multiple engines so I think I can knock this out. I know I can go balls to the wall on replacing everything inside of this thing but I am not sure its worth it on a car that may see 1000 miles a year and may have a 8.5 in it in a few years. I am thinking about replacing only the seals and crush sleeve and reusing the existing bearings, does anyone see an issue with this? I have been building g body cars for nearly 2 decades, I have parted out 20+ rusty g bodies, personally owned and driven close to 10 of them and have yet to see a bearing failure on a rear end even cars with 250k+ on them so I don’t really see an issue here. most of these parts are from low mile vehicles and I am guessing that the OEM parts are likely better quality than the over seas crap that parts stores stock anymore. am I being an idiot here by not replacing these parts? i would rather put 200 bucks into something else on the car

theoldsone

G-Body Guru
Dec 26, 2014