78 monte carlo 305 no heat

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigsez

n00b
Feb 3, 2018
Hello everyone.Newbie here. i just bought a 78 monte carlo v8 305 and the car has no heat. The blower motor works on all speeds but its just blowing cold air. I let it run for 10-15 minutes and the upper hose is hot..I didnt check the bottom hose. I didnt check the heater core lines either as of yet. I was wondering if possibly the thermostat is bad? Should I change that first and see if that does the trick? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance

bracketchev1221

Royal Smart Person
Jan 18, 2018
Check to make sure the lines are hooked up and that there is no blockage. Even if the thermostat was running cold, you'd still have some kind of heat. If it's an ac car there is a vacuum operated heater control valve as well.

crotchss

Master Mechanic
Supporting Member
Apr 14, 2010
Kearney, Nebraska
Coolant level could be low enough where it doesn’t get pumped to the heater core. If there is enough coolant in the system grab the heater core lines, if one is hot and the other is cold, then the core is plugged and needs changed out.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user

bigsez

n00b
Feb 3, 2018
I took the radiator cap off and the radiator is filled with coolant. I will check the lines to make sure if one is hot and the other is cold

oldsofb

Royal Smart Person
Supporting Member
Dec 7, 2007
Maryland
Coolant level could be low enough where it doesn’t get pumped to the heater core. If there is enough coolant in the system grab the heater core lines, if one is hot and the other is cold, then the core is plugged and needs changed out.