84 cutlass sbc 350 to olds 455 swap

Status
Not open for further replies.

84 cutlass

n00b
Oct 6, 2008
Newbie here. I have a 84 cutlass that had a sbc 350/th350 when I bought it. Spun a rod bearing so I pulled the engine. Have access to olds 455/th400, so I'm going to make the swap. I used the search function to try and find a list of what will be needed. Didn't find much, but I thought I read that 307 motor mounts would work. Also, stock manifolds must be used, unless I spend a bunch on special headers. Am I on the right track? Any suggestions are appreciated. I do have the 7.5 rear, and I know that will have to go. Thanks, Ryan

dan2286

Royal Smart Person
Mar 25, 2008
Cleveland, Ohio
It depends on what the car originally came with for an engine. It also depends on how much of a hack job the previous owner did to put a Chevy into an Olds. So far all I can really tell you is that you will need the motor mounts and the clamshells that came from a 307 Olds Gbody.

Vern

Master Mechanic
Jul 23, 2007
Dayton, OH
She is going to be fun now! Sorry I don't know the answers but can point you in some good directions in addition to what you should get here. www.oldspower.com and www.robertpowersmotorsports.com. Kooks makes a quality header for this. I remember reading something about useing the clamshell part of the 307 mount as its lower. Someone will kick in or it might be on Bob's site that I linked. Also I think you can use a WZ manifold which has no crossover and allows true duals with much better flow. I belive they are available as an approved aftermarket also. Crap maybe thats the Pontiac not sure. If you keep regular radials on it you can get by with the 7.5 especially with a support cover. www.taperformance.com. Look under products, support covers, they manufacture them then sell them direct and to dealers who resell them.

joe_padavano

Royal Smart Person
Sep 13, 2006
Northern VA
Vern said: