88 Cutlass Newbie Build

J.Rod22

J.Rod22

Greasemonkey
Oct 4, 2009
Georgia
I’ll start off with a brief introduction and give more information as I go along. I’ve been a member of this site since 2009 when I bought my 88 Cutlass Supreme Classic. At the time it was my daily driver and I was a complete newbie when it came to working on cars so I didn’t do much work to it. I’m still a newbie when it comes to working on cars but now that I have another daily driver I have the ability to work on it without worrying about messing something up.

Over the years I have lost interest in my Cutlass but browsing this site again and watching your build threads has motivated me to work on it again. I’m amazed at all the knowledge that you guys have and would love to learn and get to the point where I’m confident in building my own car like you guys do. I’m not quite sure what plans I have for my cutlass but the purpose of this thread is to keep myself motivated and to learn along the way as I document my journey for you guys. I would love feedback from you guys on my journey.

Another reason for me to want to continue this journey is because I’ve already spent so much money on this car and I have parts lying around for it that I haven’t used. I would lose so much money if I tried to sell it and don’t think I would be able to find another in as good shape.

As it sits it is an 88 Cutlass Supreme with the 307/204R. I bought an Olds 350 from a 72 cutlass that is currently disassembled that I want to put in.

I attached the most recent pics I took of my car from a few years back and my car still looks fairly similar except I got into a wreck and had to replace the header panel but the bumper cover is warped.

Attachments

D

Doug Chahoy

Royal Smart Person
Nov 21, 2016
Nice looking car. So your another one like me, I’m definitely not a mechanic. But with the help/support from this forum, I’ve accomplished things on my project that I had no idea what the hell I was doing at first.