Advice for classic newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dano455

n00b
May 31, 2016
MA
Hey guys i love classic cars and im looking at getting a el camino as a daily driver i live in MA yes it snows. And yes id drive it year round im aware of the salt and rust issues and a found a way to deal with that but im look at different models and prices and i came a across a gmc caballero excuse me if i spelt it wrong. I was jusg wonder sense it made by the same company would it be a bad idea to brand it as an el camino? Also some may think why use a nice classic as a daily well i really dig the car and now im getting towards being able to own one but i dont wanna have to wait 10 months out of the year to drive it for only 2 i figured that i could find one thats needs some work and be able to drive it all year. If you guys could leave any advice for me on what yr is the best or anything at all please ask or share price range for thoses wondering is 5k ps college student

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
welcome to the forum. Nothing wrong with driving a G body all year and please share your way of dealing with the salt and snow.

tkruger

Master Mechanic
May 6, 2015
NY
If you drive it year round just remember it lacks things like traction control, ABS etc that modern cars have. I learned to drive in 80s cars and they are not as good in the snow as most newer vehicles are. Take it slow on the road and it will get you there. Just remember that because it starts moving does not mean it will stop moving. :).

Reactions: 1 user

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
a posi, 4 snow tires and weight in the back will get you through snow that front wheel cars are stuck in. Your traction control are in your arms and feet. ABS brakes are not needed and you can stop faster without when you know how to brake.

WordMan

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 29, 2016
Lenoir City, Tennessee