HELP ASK THE FORUM, PEOPLE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

GP403

Administrator
Site Admin
Feb 25, 2005
Rolla, MO
Lately I'm again getting a HUGE influx of new users either PM'ing me asking specific car/part/installation questions or using the contact form to do the same. Here's the deal, guys:

I run the site, I have a few G-body cars, but the FORUM is where you need to ask the questions. Please don't ask me personally how to fix your car that I've never seen, where to get X part, or if X is supposed to do this or that or whatever. The wealth of this site is in the hundreds of users who read and contribute every day. They're the real experts here. Wisdom of the crowd and all that jazz.

The odds are I just don't know. I don't mean to be rude by not replying, but 1. I spell it out in big red letters on the contact page that I won't respond to questions like this, 2. I don't know. Seriously. I'm not a pro mechanic, body man, drag racer, engine builder, restoration guru, or parts supplier.

This is what the forum is all about. See the "how to post a new thread" thread in the new users section, scroll down the home page until you find the best section for your question, then click it and start a thread in there.

You did also search first, right? Use the search, you might be surprised what turns up.

Don't mean to sound like a douche here, but I don't have all the answers, trust me. Just want to get people pointed in the right direction straight out of the gate.

• Agree
  • Winner
Reactions: 16 users

Turbolq4

Royal Smart Person
Sep 25, 2017
Nampa Idaho
I'm not interested in X parts....The real money is in Y parts. You don't happen to have any of those layin around do ya??

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
and maybe it'd be good to point out there is a search window at the top right of the page....

• Agree
  • Informative
Reactions: 4 users

ck80

Supporting Member
Feb 18, 2014