At a loss......

Status
Not open for further replies.

rubio9800

Greasemonkey
Oct 10, 2020
California
Hello everyone,

I am ripping out my beard trying to figure this out (i'm no mechanic, my first g body)

Apologies for my memoir, here is the situation:

Symptom: Car turns off, could be at idling when first starting up or when accelerating, happens randomly.
High voltage when using a volt meter.

I've done a crap load of things to the car since i got it in Sept 2020, 81 grand prix, 265

• new battery (optima yellow top)
  • Cleaned up ground cables/battery ones too
  • new alternator (250amp,internal regulator, added a sound system) (most recent)
  • Big 3 done, 0 gauge (most recent)
  • new distributor cap
  • new rotor
  • new ignition control module (most recent)
  • new ignition coil
  • new fuel filter
  • spark plug/wires new
  • carburetor rebuild

Didn't have any more ideas so i took it to a shop to get diagnosed. When mechanic measured the voltage going to the distributor it was reaching 15+volts
    Car would start and as the voltage climbed it would shut off as it approached 15v, highest i saw was 15.2 when was at the shop, highest he saw was 16v. Mechanic also told me he checked other things such as for vacuum leaks, loose carburetor, checked adjustments on carb.
Mechanic mentioned it could be the alternator and should have it tested. At that point maybe was thinking bad voltage regulator? So i went to Oreilly's and they ran the test multiple times, everything showed as Passed.

For fun, i purchased an alternator from them, 70amp stock and see if the behavior would be the same. Issue still occurs, highest reading i seen so far on a dvm has been 14.7v. Couple times as the engine came on, boom abruptly turned off.

The alternator that was in the car when i first purchased it, doesn't work anymore. But now that i think about it i did have these symptoms as well, but also had a carburetor that needed to be rebuilt.