Can you use a concentric wheel on a wheel spacer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

azmusclecar

G-Body Guru
Feb 13, 2018
I'm not even sure I understand my own question but my wheels are said to be concentric and came with a
hard plastic ring that went over the hub or axle end that protrudes through the brake drum.

(THIS QUESTION ONLY PERTAINS TO REAR WHEELS WITH DRUM BRAKES)

I'd like to move the wheel out about one inch using a spacer. Will using a concentric wheel on a spacer where
I can't use the hard plastic ring create an issue???????

Sorry if my questions is confusing........I've never used a spacer before.

Ribbedroof

Comic Book Super Hero
Supporting Member
Jan 4, 2009
Wellston, OK
Hubcentric, not concentric (the other type of wheel is lugcentric)

Depends on the spacer

Personally, prefer to buy wheels with correct backspacing/offset, but apparently, lots of people run spacers successfully

• Agree
Reactions: 3 users

azmusclecar

G-Body Guru
Feb 13, 2018
Hubcentric, not concentric (the other type of wheel is lugcentric)

Depends on the spacer

Personally, prefer to buy wheels with correct backspacing/offset, but apparently, lots of people run spacers successfully
I apologize..............yes HUBcentric.............these wheels only came with a certain backspacing......I agree a properly
fitted wheel on a hub is ideal................the new billet aluminum just offers a bit of a tweak........

Thanks for the correction on the centric.............

azmusclecar

G-Body Guru
Feb 13, 2018
The spacer as I see it does not have a lip over which the plastic ring could slide over and make the wheel hubcentric.
That may be the answer.......

Ribbedroof

Comic Book Super Hero
Supporting Member
Jan 4, 2009
Wellston, OK
Some of the bolt-on spacers have a "hub" ring machined on them, but they tend to be the thicker versions.

azmusclecar

G-Body Guru
Feb 13, 2018