Cutlass/Monte Carlo/Malibu Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

prime

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Sep 3, 2009
Hello, let me start off by saying I'm a little bit insane here. So, you know, you're welcome to flame my idea's. But tips would be greatly appericiated, and active assistance to my insanity a little more so.

I am insanely into drifting, I also love ten second cars and old American muscle. One of my favorites, is the Cutlass Brougham. I do consider the Monte and the Cutlass to be pretty much the same car, they look practically identical aside from the slightly rising line on the rear fender of the Monte. I'm not to sure about the Malibu, but some done out ones have caught my eye recently, and while I'm not so much a fan of the stock look, a repaint and a different hood really make it stand out.

Now I'm not a new mechanic, I do have some knowledge and experience under my belt, though I'll keep my aspirations personal.

Bluntly, I want to make a Gbody drifter. To that end, I'd like some advice. There are a few gbodys on craiglist, most of them have 305's in them, but one of them has a 350. I'd like some advice on which I should get. The 350 is a comparable price to the 305's, so it may need a little more work, but thats no biggie. However I'm not sure whether the 305 or 350 would be more suitable for drifting. The 350 has more power for sure, so power over and spinning the tires would be easy. But its also a bit heavier and it'd tend to cause the rear to fishtail a little more.

I'd also like to know if anyone on here has put a turbo kit onto their Cutlass, Monte, ect, and how it worked out for you. What parts you needed to fabricate, if any, and what company you bought it from.