D'oh!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derision

Master Mechanic
Jul 2, 2007
Jackson, New Jersey
justwestofhell.com
So I'm driving to work today... I'm a social worker so I'm all over the place, but our main office is up the Garden State Parkway about ten miles from where I live.

So I was driving to work in the fast lane, stuck behind a school bus that was doing nowhere near the speed limit of 65. Children were standing in the back of the bus making faces at me. To my right, cars in the middle and slow lanes were shooting past. From behind me came an unmarked police cruiser, lights flashing.

I patiently waited for a break in the cars shooting past me, and then pulled into the middle lane to get out of his way. The cruiser pulled in behind me. I, again, waited for a break in traffic and pulled over. The cruiser pulled up right behind me.

After a few minutes, he the trooper got out of the car. He walked over to me and gave my car the twice-over. Walked all around it, checked every light (all of which worked), and then ambled up to the passenger window.

"I'm State Trooper Blablabla," he said to me. "The reason I pulled you over is because I clocked you doing about 110 past me."

I stifled a laugh. "Excuse me?" I replied. "Really. Well," I giggled. "Then, you know, you probably should have pulled over that school bus I was stuck behind... because that kind of speed can't possibly be safe for the children."

He proceeded to give my car the once over again, and then told me, "Yeah, these old Monte Carlos, they can definitely cruise up at that speed. You probably didn't even know you were going that fast."

"First of all," I shot back, "this isn't a Monte Carlo. And even if it was a Monte Carlo, they weren't exactly the best equipped cars. You might be able to get one of them up to 110... but I doubt it's going to like it very much."

He looked at me. "I don't hear you," he replied, turned and went back to his car.