1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dome light on all the time????

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by HAFROD, Jan 2, 2016.

  1. HAFROD

    HAFROD Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    1,908
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Claremore, OKLAHOMA
    I noticed all the courtesy(dome) bulbs pulled out of my recent craigslist purchase 82 El Camino. I put in new bulbs but closed the doors and the lights stay on. I removed both door jamb switches and cleaned them. I tested them with my multimeter and they are working correctly. The only thing left is the headlight switch, right? The headlight switch turns back and forth correctly and even locks for dome light to stay on. Any ideas? I also opened one door at a time and pressed in on the switch. no change. Still stays on.
     
  2. oldsmobile joe

    oldsmobile joe G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    mpls
    iirc, the orange wire feeds power to bulb or bulbs, white wire is the ground at the jam switches. you may have a shorted wire causing bulbs to stay on.
     
  3. pontiacgp

    pontiacgp Canadian Prime Minister

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    21,462
    Likes Received:
    2,836
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    these diagrams may help you to find the problem

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. O. D. Showtime

    O. D. Showtime Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina Sask. Canada
    Robert...I'm going to throw this out there....how long have you waited to see if the lights go out? The reason I ask is you may have the delay courtesy light feature.....interior lights stay on for about 30 secs after shutting down and leaving the vehicle. My 82 Camino SS had that feature. Like I say just throwing it out there.

    I've also heard that if the module is defective it may leave the lights on all the time. below is a pic of a couple of modules I have...

    [​IMG]


    Here's a pic of the under dash harness from that 82 SS you can see the module in the upper left of the pic..

    [​IMG]
     
    #4 O. D. Showtime, Jan 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2016
  5. HAFROD

    HAFROD Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    1,908
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Claremore, OKLAHOMA
    Good info here guys. Much appreciated
     
  6. Rotech

    Rotech Greasemonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you add the courtesy light module to a non existing car that never had it?
     
  7. O. D. Showtime

    O. D. Showtime Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina Sask. Canada
    I'm not sure...I've got a harness with delay here at the house and I think I've got a couple of harnesses at my storage locker. I'll try get over in the next couple of days and check to see what they have. I'll compare them and see what's what.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. 383_GrandPrix

    383_GrandPrix Master Mechanic

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Did you find the problem? If not, I had similar issues with my GP and it turned out to be a couple blown fuses were causing the lights to stay on when both doors were closed.
     
  9. liquidh8

    liquidh8 Comic Book Super Hero

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yardley, PA or wherever the military takes me
    My 78 el camino ss had the same problem, turned out to be that orange delay box.Just like Kevin said
     
  10. Rotech

    Rotech Greasemonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have same problem also,but I don't think I have orange delay box , not sure thou, Light stay on occasionally. Question, If you remove door switch will the cable attached to it also rotates with switch? Is the center pin isolated from the outer screw core?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Dome light Forum Date
Dome light orange delay box=how do I bypass it? Electrical Feb 19, 2016
Lost dome light, underhood lamp, and ignition buzzer Electrical Aug 26, 2015
Panel Dimmer/Dome Lights Electrical Feb 10, 2014
'82 Elky Dome Light Electrical Sep 18, 2010
LED Dome light??? Electrical Aug 29, 2009

Share This Page