Engine swap help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sanguia1

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 18, 2018
First...thanks in advance for help. So got a 85 monte carlo ss with 350 and no ecm or harness hei distributor manual/non computerized trans and carb. Got an 87 el camino with a rebuilt 350 with computerized carb, distributor and transmission. So the plan was to swap motors cause my brother wants to restore monte and reason we didnt swap trans too is monte has rebuilt trans. Unknown to us the monte had wiring n ecm tore out. I'm an decent mechanic n willing to take on a challenge. Well I pulled out both motors before I found out issues. So now I got the rebuilt motor in the monte. So set up is computerized carb n distributor but non computerised trans and no ecm or wiring. So question can I use computerized carb without issues and can I splice tach n bat wires to make computerized distributor non computerized. N of course I still have to put motor in el camino. El camino is going to my son. Were not el camino guys. Help please. I hope post makes sense

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
Welcome to the forum, you'lll need to get a non computerized distributor and carb if you are not running a complete CCC system

Sanguia1

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 18, 2018
Welcome to the forum, you'lll need to get a non computerized distributor and carb if you are not running a complete CCC system

Was hoping for better news as both are brand new. Now let's say I swap transmissions(putting comp trans in monte) n keep computerized carb n distributor will the ecm and wiring from 87 el camino fit n is that's all that's needed??

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
Why can't you keep the non computer carb and distributor on the Monte and swap the computerized parts to the engine going back in the El Camino or is your goal to have a computerized Monte?
I am guessing all of the emissions stuff has been ripped from the Monte.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user

Sanguia1