FUTURE BUICK 350 SWAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrSony

Geezer
Nov 15, 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Hello all. I am new to the GBodyForum, and I have some questions regarding a future engine swap I have in mind. My car is a 1985 Buick Regal Limited, 3.8 2 barrel V6 and 85,000 miles in it. Sadly, the little V6 ran a bit too hot and is now knocking. For the price of rebuilding it, i could get a used SBB and put that in it's place so, I plan on swapping in a 1969-1972 Buick 350 with either freshening up the TH350 in my car or going with a th350 as old as the 350 or a 200r4, with either rebuilding the current 7.5 with a posi and other goodies, or springing for an 8.5 rear. Could any of you be so kind as to help me make a list on parts I need? I know I need parts like a V8 radiator, shroud, and trans cross member (double hump :D ). Also, I've read that there were a few different versions of the Buick 350; the SB, SO, and SP. What's the difference? And from what I've read, it's one of the easiest g body v8 swaps to do, as I remember browsing the forums as a wee lad and seeing Blake442's wagon swap. So, any tips or advice or parts you think I would need is greatly appreciated. Thank you guys in advance.

455'ed80Regal

Master Mechanic
Nov 3, 2010
Lincoln, MO
It is one of the easiest swaps to do. Easier than going to a SBC. Pull the tired Buick v-6 out and drop in the Buick 350. It's as simple as that. If your SBB is complete carb to pan that would make it a quicker swap. You wouldn't have to hunt down the little things. You can reuse the engine and frame mounts(don't have to move them) as well as all accessory brackets. If you had the 3 row copper/brass v-6 radiator that would probly work till you get the v-8 radiator. The only downside to the SBB is that the aftermarket offers very little for them for performance upgrades. As for the difference between the SO, SB and SP I have no idea.

MrSony

Geezer
Nov 15, 2014
Des Moines, Iowa