G BODY Cutlass Door Stress Crack near top exterior common problem? easy fix or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

442kid

Apprentice
Nov 24, 2007
Stoney Creek Ontario Canada
Hi Guys, I have seen this a few times now and looking at some southern doors where the drivers (most commonly used) has a crack at the top of the door near chrome trim. I have seen this before on pass side door as well on another parts car. Is the door an easy fix? The bottom lip is solid...wondering if this is a common flaw in the gm doors of the era and if anybody has fixed it without a re-skin etc. Thx Darryl

• Useful
Reactions: 1 user

ed1948

Royal Smart Person
Aug 6, 2016
Quinte West, Ontario
Good question. I've seen the same uneven bodywork between the door and side glass on several cars I checked out. I'm not sure if it can be traced to a few body mounts missing on some models.
I'm new to the G body and I might be wrong.

marcar1993

G-Body Guru
Aug 31, 2007
New Jersey
Can you post a few pics of the damage to the door?

ed1948, no, the cracking near the top of the 1/4 and roof skin joint has more to do with years of flexing and there being a leaded joint right there, as these bodies and frames are weak enough even with ALL the bushings in place.

Texas82GP

Just-a-worm
Apr 3, 2015
Spring, Texas
Guys, I think he is talking about cracking of the door skin not the joint between the roof and the quarter.

ed1948

Royal Smart Person
Aug 6, 2016
Quinte West, Ontario
Re: door flaw I misread the post. I see now that the caffeine has kicked in!

ck80

Supporting Member
Feb 18, 2014
It's not so much a defect as it is (from what I've seen) a function of who owned the car and how it was treated. I've owned, drove, and repaired or parted out a couple hundred of these cars over the years and seen that issue regularly.

Also, I've been fortunate to be around some cars that had the same owner since new.