1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gage cluster swap

Discussion in 'Electrical and Interior' started by vwed, May 18, 2017.

  1. vwed

    vwed Not-quite-so-new-guy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have an 83 Malibu wagon with the round cluster with a speedo, idiot lights and a clock. I have a cluster with the speedo, gages, a tech with a small clock inside the tech. I'd like to swap to the gage cluster and have rad the procedure about the swap but I'm looking for anyone who has done the swap to explain any problems that may have come up during the swap. Thanks.
     
  2. Longroof79

    Longroof79 Geezer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,634
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    It should be a direct swap, being that you already have the round gauges. You will probably have to run a new white tach lead and tach filter. I don't recall if you need the printed circuit for tach and gauge cluster. I'm guessing that it's already included with your new replacement cluster.
    I would check the plug and make sure it's pinned and configured to accept the new cluster.
    http://www.maliburacing.com/gauge_conversion.html
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. kalidromos13

    kalidromos13 Master Mechanic
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    When i went from idiot lights to gauges i used the same webpage to reference the correct wires to the correct pin location in the connector. So Jack gave you some solid advice, just use that page as a reference.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Longroof79

    Longroof79 Geezer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,634
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    Hey Dave,
    Thanks for your vote of confidence....:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. kalidromos13

    kalidromos13 Master Mechanic
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    No problem Jack, you have my vote any time!
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  6. V8 Rumble

    V8 Rumble Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Connecticut
    As mentioned above run the tach wire and make sure you get the correct sender for gauges. I did the swap on my malibu from sweep to gauges using the link Jack gave above.

    You can click on the link in my signature. I made a video of my cluster swap.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Longroof79

    Longroof79 Geezer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,634
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    Thanks for chiming in, Joe.
    I forgot all about the link to your informative video....and mentioning the correct senders for the gauges, etc..
     
    #7 Longroof79, May 19, 2017
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  8. airboatgreg

    airboatgreg Master Mechanic

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I also did this and your have to change the senders and run the tach wire to the printed circuit. I saw that a lot of guys did not run the filter from the tach. I did as the factory would not of put it there if it was not needed. Also you can make a cheap kill switch with a double pole switch branching off of that wire
     
  9. vwed

    vwed Not-quite-so-new-guy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for all the info. The video was very helpful. I had read about adding the white tach wire but didn't think about finding a spare pin to slip into the connector. Would be great if it was as easy as adding a wire and changing out some senders. Again thanks for the help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page