Gauge swap and floor shifter swap

Status
Not open for further replies.

EastEnder

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 10, 2009
Hi all, I'm in the process of buying an 80 Malibu wagon (v6, bench seat, not split) and wanted to know how are it is to swap a few parts. The first things I was looking to do was to swap gauges, and mount a floor shifter, and bucket seats.

I really like the look of the olds rally gauges, but i think that cluster is too wide to fit into a malibu, correct? Would it be better to go with a set from a monte ss? Im not a good electrician, so Im looking for more a plug a play. I can hook up sending units, and run a few wires, but not looking to solder circuit boards. Can I get the tach to work on the v6?

As for the floor shifter and buckets, I see plenty of threads on the bucket seats, but not many on floor shifters. Is it better to use a monte ss floor shifter vs a buick or olds or GP? Does it matter if its solid mechanical linkage, or can I use a cable? Will the shifter lever bolt in or do I make holes? Any helps or link works well for me.

Thanks for the help!

Nov 4, 2012
If you are just looking to swap the cluster, then the Olds gauges won't work, you'd need a whole dash. If I remember correctly, the Monte SS gauge cluster should swap right in although you may need to run some wires for any gauges it has that your car doesn't. As for the seats, you will need g body bucket seats and the floor mounts for the inners which will have to be welded to the floor. For a floor shift, you will need a console, a shifter, the shifter cable and boot, the brackets to mount everything to the floor, the bracket for the cable to mount tho the transmission, and the bracket that attaches to the transmission itself where the cable changes the gear. I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's the procedure.

EastEnder

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 10, 2009
Thanks for the help. Know of any how to thread or build threads where guys were putting floor shifters in?

Nov 4, 2012