Great Times from Marty..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 11, 2019
To all,
Thank you for this FORUM. We just purchased a 1984 Grand National. (without the engine or transmission) Long story short....my boys and I are putting this beauty in the rough back on the road. I have basic knowledge of a little bit of a lot of things and a lot of knowledge of a few things. I do know that the basic rule in any major project is research every avenue many time and get every bit of information from all different avenues before you even open the tool box.
I am excited about this project as I have grown up handing tools to my dad. He was an airplane mechanic for the military and has dropped a few engines into the "P.O.S.'s" my mom would buy while he was overseas and blow the engine. (I was young then)
I would very much like to include this forum in our project as we bring this car back to life..... The basic cliff note version of what has transpired to date:
*Unknown to me, my 15 year old son has always admired the Buick Grand National
*He found a 1984 Grand National for sale without an engine or transmission (Saves pulling the old one to start fresh)
*I was not interested in even looking at the car or diving into this project.
*My 17yr old talked me into going to look at it by saying to me "it is Friday Night...dad is not home yet, you need to at lease look at the car. What else are you doing?
*Went for a ride. Next thing, both my boys were looking at my feet hanging out from under the car as I was under the car checking th frame for damage and rust. (she had solid bones) and for the price, I would rather spend time with the boys under a car than have them doing what most teenagers are doing now days.
*Took a chance and bought this car without the pink slip, only a yellow piece of paper receipt (yeah I know better than to do that, but even if it turned out to be a bad choice my boys would learn a valuable lesson)