Hey Guys,im a newbie so be nice lol, Sbc in a 87 cutlass

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerrycad472

Master Mechanic
Nov 11, 2006
Detroit, MI
You would for sure have to change the brackets on the AC pump over to ones that will work with your SBC accessorys, (make sure you get compete set of accessory brackets with your Chevy as none of the Olds stuff will work). More than likely the actual AC pump will not work with the Chevy brackets. Even if it does, the lines won't reach because the pump will be sitting in a slightly different location on the SBC. You will more than likely have to Release the refrigerant.

bryguy39

Apprentice
Apr 25, 2007
so is this the transmission brace i need?http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10001_10002_744017_-1_11329

550-41050

i am running a Turbo350 with 2800 stall with a 2 stage shift kit, also how will the transmission cooling lines work? will i have to get a radiator outta a v8 monte?thanks bryan

82355supreme

Greasemonkey
May 16, 2006
Wisconsin
Yes that's the crossmember. As far as the rad. goes... I'd HIGHLY recommend a 4 core brass or an aluminum 2 row. Just how wild is this 350 going to be?? Anything at or over 9.5/1 compression I wouldn't run your stocker anymore.

And, with that high of a stall, I'd also use an external trans. cooler along with the built in cooler on the radiator.

bryguy39

Apprentice
Apr 25, 2007
the motor is around 400hp or little over, has aluminum zz4 corvette heads so the motor will be alittle cooler.

What do you think i should do to make this build complete?

Thanks.Bryan

357chevIn86

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Sep 8, 2006
MISSOURI
i've got an adapter plate to mate a sbc/bbc to a bop transmission. let me know if you want it and i'll check shipping and shoot you a price. if your going to use your transmission. i also have a short tail 350 turbo. but you could probably get one from a junk yard as a core and get it rebuilt for as much as it would cose to ship it. :)

Sep 1, 2006