How to deal with fumes in the shop?

kirk

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 4, 2021
So with retirement I've transformed my garage (583 sqft) into a shop. I've started a frame off resto on an 87 ElCo and recently I can't stay in the shop more than a half hour without getting lightheaded. I don't notice any odors when I'm out there, but when I come in my hands always smell like fuel.

Two questions:
1) Would a large (440+ CFM) exhaust fan be a safe investment for air flow and fume removal?

2) What did I do wrong to cause all these vapors in the shop? I didn't notice a problem until I sawed through the exhaust to get to the driveshaft and removed the rear driver wheel to get to a brake leak. The brake fluid was really rotten so I emptied the reservoir.

Thanks for any input, this is my first time working on a car and this is all new to me.

Kirk

Attachments

• elcaminostart.jpg
    elcaminostart.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 159
  • IMG_2663.JPEG
    IMG_2663.JPEG
    1.2 MB · Views: 162

Bonnewagon

Rocket Powered Basset Hound
Supporting Member
Sep 18, 2009
Queens, NY
Is there fuel in the tank? Get it out of there. The tank vent/charcoal canister is supposed to catch them and store them. If not connected it will allow fumes out and if the shop is closed they will accumulate as you have found out. I just leave the door open but in winter it can get too cold for that. A dedicated fan that vents old air out and fresh air in is always a good idea but I would concentrate more on prevention. Get rid of the gas.

• Agree
Reactions: 4 users

kirk

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 4, 2021