How to remove weather strip adhesive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

old80cs

G-Body Guru
Jun 27, 2013
Massachusetts
I just installed my new trunk lid weather strip and used 3m adhesive. I. trial fit the strip and there was more than foot left to be trimmed so I put a bead half way around the trunk perimeter and started setting it in place. I've never used this stuff before, first time for everything, it came out of the tube very inconsistent and was watery in some spots and solid yellow in other stretches. After pressing the strip in to set it in place permanent it gushed out from under the seal. I tried with a wet rag and it just smeared it. I didn't want to try a solvent for fear of wrecking paint. So my question is, is there way to clean this stuff off of my freshly painted car to make it look more sanitary?

IMG_3411.jpeg IMG_3412.jpeg IMG_3413.jpeg

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user

84cutlasssupreme

Apprentice
Nov 2, 2019
I just installed my new trunk lid weather strip and used 3m adhesive. I. trial fit the strip and there was more than foot left to be trimmed so I put a bead half way around the trunk perimeter and started setting it in place. I've never used this stuff before, first time for everything, it came out of the tube very inconsistent and was watery in some spots and solid yellow in other stretches. After pressing the strip in to set it in place permanent it gushed out from under the seal. I tried with a wet rag and it just smeared it. I didn't want to try a solvent for fear of wrecking paint. So my question is, is there way to clean this stuff off of my freshly painted car to make it look more sanitary?

View attachment 206491 View attachment 206492 View attachment 206493