LM7 fuel pressure question

Status
Not open for further replies.

lolthisisnuts

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 2, 2021
Hey everyone! I'm new to the chat. I have an 83 el camino with an 5.3 LM7 swap. I have an LS6 intake, LS6 injectors and aftermarket fuel rails. Here's my question. If I haven't started the car in a week a or so, when I go to run the car on it takes a little longer to crank and turn over than normal. However, if I turn on the ignition and let the fuel pump run for MAYBE a second then crank it the car starts right up. The car drives perfectly fine. No misses or lack of power. I'm a bit of a novice and I'm learning as I go on this car (I didn't build it). The issue is I don't have a schradar valve to test the fuel pressure so I'm guessing I have to buy a cheap in line fuel pressure gauge? My question is do any of you think I have a very very very small/slow fuel pressure leak or am I overthinking it and the electric fuel pump just need a second to build fuel pressure before I crank the engine over?

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY
Very normal and expected to have the rail lose pressure while sitting. The OEM's resolved this with a pump that has a check valve of some nature in the supply line, and some returns have it as well. Most aftermarket pumps do not have a check valve anywhere.

Let the pump run for a second or two and all will be well.

• Agree
Reactions: 3 users

lolthisisnuts

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 2, 2021
Very normal and expected to have the rail lose pressure while sitting. The OEM's resolved this with a pump that has a check valve of some nature in the supply line, and some returns have it as well. Most aftermarket pumps do not have a check valve anywhere.

Let the pump run for a second or two and all will be well.
Thank you for the help! I was driving myself nuts over this haha. Felt like I was chasing a ghost.

Reactions: 1 user

lolthisisnuts

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 2, 2021

Hey All