Malibu fuel tank in El Camino

Status
Not open for further replies.

JimmyD

Apprentice
Feb 16, 2021
Umatilla, Florida
Hi all, Newbie here. Is it possible to install a Malibu (or "other") g-body fuel tank with rear fill into an El Camino with side fill ?
I want to smooth and eliminate the side fill cover and go to rear fill under license plate. I think I will need to make a custom rear bumper but I do metal fab and that wont be a problem, unless somebody knows where to get a rear bumper with tail lights "and" license plate. This will also allow me to smooth my tailgate. Any ideas will be carefully considered. Thanks to all, great site !

Tomeal

G-Body Guru
Apr 17, 2016
Clyde,pa
I would think filling from the bumper area would make a very horizontal fill line into the tank.

For that much work, maybe elco tank modified to the inner wheel well?

JimmyD

Apprentice
Feb 16, 2021
Umatilla, Florida
I would think filling from the bumper area would make a very horizontal fill line into the tank.

For that much work, maybe elco tank modified to the inner wheel well?
Thanks, didn't think about that. Does the Malibu bumper sit that much higher on the body than it does on the Elco ? I've owned both but never had them sitting side by side. Sold the Malibu.

Tomeal

G-Body Guru
Apr 17, 2016
Clyde,pa
They come through the back of the plate which sits higher than the bumper. Even on a Malibu you'd be pretty close to horizontal.

The tanks fill in close to the top, which is pretty much the under side of the bed. Your bumper is lower than the bed

malibudave

Greasemonkey
Mar 12, 2010
Houston, TX