Mild 305 cam

Status
Not open for further replies.

LukeZ

G-Body Guru
Apr 24, 2015
Delaware
Couldn't find what I wanted after a search. Let me also say that I am not a cam expert.

I am looking to upgrade the cam and lifters in my LG4 305. On a Camaro forum, I found these specs for the LG4 cam:

.350 lift intake
.385 lift exhaust
178* dur @.050 intake
194* dur @.050 exhaust
109* LSA

I don't know what a good range is for a mild cam. All I know from various threads is that the stock LG4 cam is garbage lmao. What's the best hydraulic roller cam (preferably a kit that includes both cam and the lifters) for a daily driver 305? I understand it differs for every vehicle setup.

My car is about 3650lbs with me in it. 200R4 auto transmission. 2.56:1 rear end, peg leg. The only thing I have done on the otherwise stock vehicle is an Eddy performer air gap and exhaust.

Thanks

Andebe

Greasemonkey
Mar 6, 2017
Indiana
Changing your rear gears will give you more bang for the buck than your cam change. It will be performance you can "feel." Based on what you have described...

• Agree
Reactions: 2 users

Andebe

Greasemonkey
Mar 6, 2017
Indiana
Vortec heads would show/feel increase,combined with duals and gears. 305 stands for 3-OH MY GOD WHY WONT THIS GO ANY FASTER-5. :blam:

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user

lilbowtie

Comic Book Super Hero
Jan 7, 2006
Canton Mi
You might not like the cam change - with that 2.56 gear your not turning any rpm's and a bigger cam is probably going to hurt your bottom end more than stock.

• Agree
Reactions: 3 users

LukeZ

G-Body Guru
Apr 24, 2015
Delaware
Let's say I went with 3.23s some time in the future. Everything else is the same. What cam would be good?

L67ss

Royal Smart Person
Dec 8, 2016
If you go vortec head route make sure to get them from a 305 vortec so you don't lose compression

• Agree

bob64

G-Body Guru
Mar 30, 2017
Niagara Falls, Canada
305 is a dog , heads don't breathe, so replacing the cam isn't going to help much.