"Modernizing" my 1984 Cutlass

Status
Not open for further replies.

BamaBoy256

n00b
Jun 20, 2011
Or swaps youve seen that really looked clean? Im talking about seats or dashes. Ive been looking on the net lately trying to find things to make my cutlass stand out. I want it to look more modern honestly! I was thinking about fiberglassing the dash and then i saw a couple of forums talking about swapping dashes from W and F body gms. So my questions are 1. What are some dash swaps that you KNOW will work with a gbody (something that would bolt right up in a 1984 cutlass)? 2. What are some other things you've seen done that give gbodys a modern look? Ive seen LEDs in the tail lights and consoles added but im just getting started in the car game so I know I havent seen much.

trevorjm

Greasemonkey
May 2, 2011
Dakota Digital makes a complete set of digital gauges for g bodies but they're pretty crazy expensive (i think at least they're like $700)

Grand Prix dashes swap right in cause it's a g body and those swaps look really good. People have done BMW/Impala/and 3rd gen Camaro dashes that look good two. Seats from new monte carlo's fit in easily too and change the seats and look pretty good.
http://www.elcaminocentral.com/showthread.php?t=42526 here's those dash swaps.

RITTER

Royal Smart Person
May 26, 2007
Hillsdale, MI
If you take a dash from any other car than a GBody, you will have to do some modifying to make it fit correctly. The 3rd and 4th generation Camaro's and Firebird's seem like the most common swap and they look really good.

dlo253

G-Body Guru
Mar 25, 2011
PNW, WA
Hell Yeah, I really like that dash too. Wonder if They are using the jag gauges? I like that color too haha

BamaBoy256

n00b
Jun 20, 2011
3m13o63lf5O25W45P5b6d54c7cb43161e1bd8.jpg
Thats exactly what im talking about I love the way the dash looks right there the console also! Id probably leave the wheel out and just throw a grant in there but besides that I love that interior.