My 79 Olds Calais Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

finman04

Greasemonkey
Nov 27, 2011
Roseville Mi.
Hello Guys,

I'm new to the fourm and havent worked on cars in a long time. I have a 79 Calais that i found in Kentucky that i was really interested in. I had a 79 Supreme back in the 80's that i have really missed, so i started looking for another and found this one. I picked the car up for $2500, hope that it was work it. The motor is a 260 that ticks pretty bad, but still runs. The bodys not to bad but the undercarriage is really clean. There is some surface rust on the car from sitting so long in the sun but no rust, even around the rear bumper bolts where this is usually a problem. The interior needs new front and rear seats covers from the dryrot. The b-pillers and the rear of the bucket seats are just falling apart. After i towed the car back i didnt know which way i was going to go, small block or big block. After talking to some friends they said i should put a chevy motor in it, so much cheaper but i didnt want to do this to the olds so i decided to put a olds with the old and found a 69 455 F block with the original C heads and 400 transmission with the long shaft though for $500. The motor sat for over 21 yrs from what i was told, and was seized when i went to look at it, the owner didnt even know it. I was able to unsieze the motor by using half trans fluid and acidtone, which really did work great. Once i started to strip the motor down i thought it was a really bad decision until getting it cleaned up. The only thing that i have done to the car since then is put the rear spoiler on that i found off a 84 Firebird that fits great, used to have one on my supreme back in the 80's. Hope you like the pics.

Attachments

• DSC00258.JPG
    DSC00258.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 1,521
  • dell car 5.jpg
    dell car 5.jpg
    348.4 KB · Views: 1,454
  • DSC00256.JPG
    DSC00256.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 1,471
  • DSC00254.JPG
    DSC00254.JPG