need a little electircal help

Status
Not open for further replies.

wonderboy24

Royal Smart Person
Jul 10, 2012
Davenport, Iowa
trying to hook gauges up in my car but need a little help on the wiring diagram. the speedo sensor has white ,black,red. also the back speedo has black,and red. where i am confused is where the wires from the speedo sensor hook to. do they both go to the battery? the directions do give specifics. thanks for your advise.
20160704_161625.jpg

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
need more of the instructions in the picture but it looks pretty straight forward. Take a break and then take another look at it, I'm sure you'll figure it out...what brand of speedo is it?

wonderboy24

Royal Smart Person
Jul 10, 2012
Davenport, Iowa
i have taken lots of breaks. i am not good with electrical. thats why i need help lol. the instruction arent very friendly for me lol

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
depending on what sender if you are using the 3 wire one the red goes to a switched power source, the black the ground and the white one connects to the top left terminal on the back of the speedo unit. If If you use the 2 wire the white wire for to the top left terminal and the other is the ground.

have you got the other wires figured out?. That looks like a nice speedo..:)

Reactions: 1 user

wonderboy24

Royal Smart Person
Jul 10, 2012
Davenport, Iowa
the 3 wire one. so the red would go to like the ignition?the black on the sensor would ground to the car ? sorry if i sound stupid. just need help. then the red from the back of the speedo would go to the battery? tried to find a company around here to install them but nobody would

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario