Need engine swap advice -1986 Monte Carlo Ls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anthony Nyz

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 11, 2017
New to the forum, so please bear with me.

Bought a 1986 monte carlo Ls with the 4.3 V6/auto 3 speed trans this past tuesday. This past wednesday, the engine seizes. So now I'm forced to do an engine swap. I've decided to go in the small block chevy direction, specifically a rebuilt 350 from jegs.

http://www.jegs.com/i/Chevrolet-Performance/809/10067353K8/10002/-1

I have a few main questions, but any and all advice is appreciated since this is my first time working on a g body.

Will I have to worry about different/custom engine mounts with this engine?

Will I need an adapter plate/different bell housing to mate my existing trans with this new engine?

Can anyone recommend a harness? Not sure what I'd need as far as engine management. I'm assuming it would be rather simple because the engine is carbureted.

Should I upgrade to a bigger radiator going from a v6 to a v8 in this application?

Any information would be great, thank you.

pmoore4321

Greasemonkey
Dec 10, 2009
Houston, Texas
Will I have to worry about different/custom engine mounts with this engine?
(2) OER 332648
(2) Anchor 2292

Will I need an adapter plate/different bell housing to mate my existing trans with this new engine?
I was going to say "no", but can't remember what trans is in the V6 MC

Can anyone recommend a harness? Not sure what I'd need as far as engine management. I'm assuming it would be rather simple because the engine is carbureted.
Does your state have emissions testing? Air conditioning requirements? You don't really need the harness with the setup you will be using.

Should I upgrade to a bigger radiator going from a v6 to a v8 in this application?
Spectra CU162

Engine brackets? I would use a serpentine system from a 90s pickup.

I believe the V6 is injected, no? fuel pump setup?