New guy in the house

Status
Not open for further replies.

Malibu Dave

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 4, 2006
Jamestown, NY
New guy in the house!

Hi my name is Dave and I am a FORMER Gbody owner. When I was in High School I owned an almost cherry 80 Malibu Classic. It was a 2 door, with the 305, auto transmission (column shift :x ) bench seat, am/fm 8 track (in a 80 :shock: ), and AC (which didnt work :? ). The former owner of the car replaced the stock intake manifold with a elderbrock, and the 2bl carb with a holley 4bl. It was light grey, with a vinyl top, with grey interior. When I graduated HS, I gave it a minor restoration. I removed the viynl top and the hideous matching side vinyl trim. I then removed almost all of the chrome, only the trim arround the bezels, edge of trunk, and wheelwells remained. I finished it off with a color change, goodbye elephant hide grey, hello 78 corvette anniversary light metalic silver. I finished it off by replacing the stock steel wheels and wire wheel covers, with a set of nice rallye rims off a 79/80 monte carlo ss, with new chrome trim rings. I only had the car out of the body shop less than a month when disaster struck. I was in Florida about 1100 miles away from where I lived. I was not used to the speed limit there (avg MPH was 45-50, instead of the 30-35 i was used too). I turned at an intersection, and a guy ran a red light and tboned me at (according to the police report) 65MPH :shock: . He hit me in the left front fender spining me 90 degrees and slamming against the side of his truck, and then bouncing off of him and ending up in a ditch off the side. The guy hit the brakes, and soon as he saw me open the door to get out, he PEELED RUBBBER and took off! Well, my car was taken to the salvage yard, i was a mess (broken glass was in my hair, from 3 of the 5 windows that were blown out on impact) I had to call my parents to wire me money to fly back, after I went to the salvage yard to remove my plates, and my valubles inc