Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnny99

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Aug 21, 2017
San Antonio, Texas
Hi! Just introducing myself. 1984 cutlass Calais, (and 1985 Cutlass Supreme Brougham), both 3.8l v6 3800cc 231ci.

Regards,

Johnny99 or just JD

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user

Injectedcutty

G body LS mafia
Nov 24, 2014
Louisville, KY
Welcome aboard from KY to the best G body site out!!! As SoFloG said, we like G body p*rn....share some pics of your rides when you get a chance!

Reactions: 2 users

Johnny99

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Aug 21, 2017
San Antonio, Texas
I've been maintaining my Aunt's 84 Cutlass Calais since 1996. She actually had a shop exchange the engine in1992 with a rebuilt short block. I never knew for sure until just recently, but I think from the numbers, that the block is an 83, (25506397) and the heads are 86-87, (25518445). Unfortunately when the lower radiator hose sprung a leak and boiled over, a few weeks ago, she just kept on driving, another 3-5 (city) miles. I went and added water, followed her home the last 2 miles, and changed the LRH the next day. She didn't drive anywhere that week, until the following Sunday. She made her usual 17 mile roundabout (stop n go through city streets) trip to see my mom and they drove to several stores locally. It was when she left that evening (5:45 and 102) That she called to say her car was making an "awful sound" and was "hard to start" (water filled cylinder?) to pull in the garage. She blew left side head gasket at #5 cyl. Also "warmed" the motor pretty good. Towed it to my house. I had the heads redone and put it all back together, along with all new gaskets, cap, rotor, wires, plugs, and belts... But I'm not out of the woods yet. I'm thinking the rings may be gone. I'm not sure though, I didn't run it/drive for more than about 10 minutes the night I finished and then one short test drive (2 miles) that next morning at an avg. of 35 mph. One other thing. I replaced the lifters (which didn't have much o