New Owner looking to Upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greasy_Holly

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 22, 2020
Hey yall!
Recently bought a 1981 Buick Regal 3.8L V6. Its all stock except for the rear springs and the rims. I installed a tach as well cause I wanted one after I blew the carburetor by hooking up the vacuum hoses wrong and blew chunks of charcoal into it from the canister. Embarrassing but the truth. Im looking to turn this thing into a drag racer. This car has been my dream car since I was 12. I want to go all out meaning put a Chevy 572 in it, upgrade the suspension, redo pretty much everything. Its going to be a huge learning experience as I am just starting to learn about cars and how they work. Over the next couple weeks I’ll probably be asking some stupid or just opinionated questions, like whats the best place to get a crate engine, best drivetrain to go with, and the like.
Thank you all for your time and I look forward to sharing my build with yall. It will go slow because of my job and the money I make, but hopefully an eventful journey all the same.
EA479359-7910-4AF6-A2AE-558D56F0F8CF.jpeg
B3AEC535-FBE6-45DD-880E-49F129CD6EB2.jpeg

Reactions: 3 users

DJHull

Master Mechanic
Apr 28, 2015
Lansing, Mi
Good luck. Like that you have the drive to get into a project this size. Do your homework so you are not wasting money and time! Measure twice cut once.

Reactions: 2 users

mclellan83

Comic Book Super Hero
Jun 27, 2017
Pgh, PA
Nice looking car to start with, looking forward to seeing how it all turns out for you

Reactions: 4 users

lilbowtie

Comic Book Super Hero
Jan 7, 2006
Canton Mi
Those are some pretty big steps and a lot of $$$ to boot. Any experience drag racing? Will the car be drag only? Good lookin Regal !!!

• Agree
Reactions: 2 users

Doug Chahoy

Comic Book Super Hero
Nov 21, 2016
Except for the FUGLY big wheels, thats to nice to turn into a drag car. You even lucked out with no rust causing vinyl roof.

• Haha
Reactions: 1 user