Apprentice
Sep 20, 2010
windsor, OH
Im new to G bodys, I have done some work on other cars with friends:
70 AMX
80 Camaro
70 GS
69 Chevelle
but this project is a little different, I want to do some custom work rather than just a resto. Ive had it for 2 weeks but has been sitting for 6 years, there is quite a bit of surface rust and what not.
So far I have:
removed the AC/Heater unit and vents
removed vinyl roof
cleaned interior and under hood
Got it started the other day, the engine wouldnt turn over so I added new plugs and gas, let some penetrating oil sit in cylinders for a few days and it finally broke free. There is a fuel leak somewhere in the carb so Ill look for that but eventually want to put a new motor/trans/rear axle in it.
Here are some pics, let me know what you think, ideas of what should be done.

Attachments

• IMG_1801.JPG
    IMG_1801.JPG
    772.3 KB · Views: 1,375
  • IMG_1803.JPG
    IMG_1803.JPG
    876.2 KB · Views: 1,375
  • IMG_1826.JPG
    IMG_1826.JPG
    702.9 KB · Views: 1,378

ElCamMan515

Master Mechanic
May 18, 2010
Central New York
That Looks Better Than My El Camino did when i bought it in 2007, after sitting 6 years hows the frame look? any rot or holes? i think you have a good base to start on a project. With a lil time, love and money anyhting is possible, good luck with it!

stallings.sean

Apprentice
Sep 20, 2010
windsor, OH
heres what it looked like when I got it.
The frame looks a little rusty but not rusted through. Itll need to be sand blasted and POR15'ed or something but thatll be later down the line.

Pics dont show the first day I saw it, it used to live in a garage for 6 years with a few cats and a dog that peed, crapped, and puked all over it. Ive never had to vacuum the inside and outside a car before. At least the inside was sealed so no animals got in and the cats prevented any mice from living in it

Attachments

• P1011483.JPG
    P1011483.JPG
    680.3 KB · Views: 1,361
  • P1011480.JPG
    P1011480.JPG