Status
Not open for further replies.

mayorjesse

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Dec 11, 2005
San Francisco, CA
New to GBody with my '83 Calais

Hey All, Mayor Here -

Just picked up an '83 Cutlass Calais, T-Tops, '87 Euro front clip. It only has the V6, but I wasn't worried b/c I wanna restore body first then get to engine - thinking of dropping in a V8 a year or two down the road. Car's got 87,000 and change, original - cleanest underbody I've seen for these (Im new to Gbody, but have looked into buying b4 when I lived in Boston - frame rails get rusted out easy there, but now I'm in sunny California and ain't no worries here apparently).

The interior is awesome, no wear at all, center console shift, maroon leather, limo tints. I'm psyched, I want to make ext. as nice.

I need to replace shocks all around- I wanted to give it a little bit of a meaner stance (like the Hurst Olds) - any suggesttions for suspension?

Does anyone know what the bracket is called that holds the front clip up from the radiator? I need to get that cause front end sags a little, needs that bracket.

Also, what rpms should engine be idling, mine seem to idle btw. 1400-1600 which is a bit high, not sure what fact. recommends. I'm not sure if tach is off (seems to shift right b4 redlining and I'm driving real easy as of now) - is this a common issue or i just need to adjust idle?

Temp gauge doesn't work. I'm uneasy about this even w/ good engine - is this a common problem? For anyone who's done it - is it easy fix in these cars?

Sorry if some of these ??'s are answered in forum, I just joined and am eager to get my car ship shape. I've had the car a day and love it. I'm off now to get haynes/chiltons manual hook up my ride.

Give a holler.
-The Mayor
'83 Cutlass Calais V6
T-Tops

Cutty87

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Nov 30, 2005
BC, Canada
Good luck with there ever being anybody on this board.

GP403

Administrator
Site Admin
Feb 25, 2005
Rolla, MO
Hey mayor!