Newbie need help with trim tag

Status
Not open for further replies.

francolsx

n00b
Oct 19, 2020
Hello Im new to the G body world the only Chevy car that I haven't owned. But I just bought a 1979 Malibu need help with decoding it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• 20201018_183155.jpg
    20201018_183155.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 163

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
79 is model year, 1AW27 is body style. 1- Chevrolet, A- A-body, W27 - Malibu Classic, Notchback 2-door
Z is the assembly plant. Freemont, CA.
24V - LIGHT blue vinyl interior
A52- Bench seat
22U and 22L are body paint. Light blue was it? WA4964
02C - Build week, 3rd week of February, 1979

There is a 3 dash deal on the tag. This normally means something that was a bit unusual, like perhaps striping, or a specialty RPO not normally offered in the options catalog. In this case, is there anything "odd" about the car that would warrant a 3 dash relief on the body tag?

Last edited:
Reactions: 4 users

francolsx

n00b
Oct 19, 2020
Wow thank you very much. Ive been looking to decode this for 2 days already and no luck. I really appreciate it. I just got the time to really look at the vehicle and found all the original paperwork from original owner. And I found the build sheet for this car!!

Reactions: 1 user

francolsx

n00b
Oct 19, 2020
Original build sheet that I found in the car.

Attachments

• 20201019_203425.jpg
    20201019_203425.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 141
Reactions: 1 user

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
Interesting. My apologies. The info I had for 24V was dark blue vinyl. Unless I looked at something wrong. Which for me is always quite possible. The build sheet says its LT BLUE Vinyl. Build sheets aren't always absolutely correct, however. But I defer to the rest of the interior colors on the build sheet.