Performance Parts Require High Idle ? 305 H.O.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tynan918

Royal Smart Person
Aug 2, 2021
I have an '84 MCSS with a 305 High Output/L69... Just bought it about 3 weeks ago and the seller wasn't mechanically inclined to tell me of any modifications to the engine, and I'm very new to engine performance and performance parts...

He told me it was a 350 but after I ran the head and block casting numbers, I found out the engine is a 305 High Ouput/L69... Camaro heads and Corvette cam, and a performance racing engine of the 1980's ... or that's at least that's what I'm reading in other forums...

I have a 1405 Edelbrock Carburetor, Ebelbrock Single Plane Intake, and I bought and installed and aftermarket HEI Vacuum Advance Distributor (Manifold), wires, and spark plugs...

On a cold start, I can't adjust the carb and get the idle RPM's at 600 without rough idling and stalling if I hit the throttle pedal... Whether I advance or retard the timing with the distributor, or play with the mixing screws, or play with both idling screws, I still get the same results...

Lowest I can get is maybe 800 RPM at idle, but 1,000 RPM's runs smooth and shows correct with a vacuum gauge. Is 1000 RPM correct considering the engine and performance parts ?

But after the engine warms up, doesn't the RPM drop almost 200 ? Giving me about 800 RPM at idle, and then dropping down another 200-300 again in Drive ?

Also, does high RPM bring high fuel consumption and engine damage with it?

No vacuum leaks, did the cigar smoke test, smoke only comes out the top of the carburetor choke...

Really want better gas mileage...should I run it at the 1,000 RPM's and run 93 octane or....?

Any help and tips is appreciated, this is my only car and daily driver...

Reactions: 1 user

ELCAM

Royal Smart Person
Jun 19, 2021