Status
Not open for further replies.

Kamloops cutlass

Master Mechanic
Jan 27, 2021
Kamloops bc
Hello
I would like to hear opinions on the fitment of Proforged steering parts
I need to completely rebuild my front end but am concerned by a tread started earlier this year
The guy (“ regalregal”) had issues with proforged tie rods hitting spindles I think it was .
I want my job to go smoothly should I just use Moog parts ?
I’ve heard moog wears out pretty quick
What do you guys use ?

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
What have you used in the past? Nothing is built the same way it used to be, that's for sure. Also, was it verified that the parts ordered were the parts received?

I have limited experience with Moog and the older Echlin stuff from NAPA, but have had good luck with them in the past on the 60s/70s A-bodies. The G-body stuff I've used is all GM, so whoever made those parts, that's what I've used.

I've purchased individual components from GM to build a complete steering linkage end to end, and also got hold of a factory unit that was pre-assembled.
G-body NOS steering assembly.jpg

There are always some quality-level parts that will wear out quickly according to statistical outliers. It's one thing if 2 people out of 100 say they have had bad luck with something. It's another when 90 out of 100 have had bad luck. It's fine to notice the bad reviews, but you also need to look at price points. HD, quality suspension parts are $$. Stock stuff in aftermarket seems to come in varying quality levels as well it seems on cursory checks. Who knows if that "better" part isn't just a re-boxed lower quality part? I dunno.

So basically, I said all that to say nothing of any help.

Reactions: 1 user

Kamloops cutlass

Master Mechanic
Jan 27, 2021
Kamloops bc
What have you used in the past? Nothing is built the same way it used to be, that's for sure. Also, was it verified that the parts ordered were the parts received?