Quiet AC compressor fail?

Discussion in 'Cooling / Heating / AC' started by Bonnewagon, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. Bonnewagon

    Bonnewagon Geezer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Queens,New York
    My AC quit working just as it is getting hot. I figured on a leak but I have 70psi in the system at rest. Then I checked the fuses and relays and the compressor clutch engages as it should. So the compressor is running but I am getting no change in the high or low side. I am used to compressor failures being noisy and destructive and the system leaking out totally. Is it possible for the compressor to fail internally and not show the usual symptoms and if so what would be the cause? I'm just throwing this out there before I remove it and begin an autopsy and replacement.
     
  2. pontiacgp

    pontiacgp Canadian Prime Minister

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    22,026
    Likes Received:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    If there is no pressure in the lines should that not cause the compressor to recycle continously?

    I came across this, maybe it will help...

    [​IMG]
     
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Ribbedroof

    Ribbedroof Royal Smart Person

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,039
    Likes Received:
    613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    107 miles from Nowhere, OK
    My daughter's Jeep (96 Cherokee) just did this. Worked fine last fall, no cooling this spring. Did an evac and recharge just to make sure we hadn't developed a leak (hadn't).Compressor wasn't noisy, but showed same pressure on both sides. Replaced the expansion valve (relatively inexpensive, and couldn't hurt) with no change, and then installed a new-to-me compressor. Everything is back to normal. 241000 miles, I guess it just wore out.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pontiacgp

    pontiacgp Canadian Prime Minister

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    22,026
    Likes Received:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    please do not mention a Jeep to Mark, it may cause irreparable distress...:cool:
     
  5. Bonnewagon

    Bonnewagon Geezer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Queens,New York
    Brian- same thing. I get 70 psi on both sides even with the compressor running. That is new to me as I have only seen catastrophic failures on other vehicles. My 2000 Cherokee had a noisy failure and I did the compressor, orifice-in-hard-line, hoses, and accumulator. Works great but has a tiny leak somewhere. (Yes Steve- it is still screwing me!). I've had compressors apart and I can't think of anything that would cause it not to make pressure without damage.
     
  6. airboatgreg

    airboatgreg G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    525
    Trophy Points:
    93
    If the compressor is engaged and you have the same pressure on the hi and low side it is one of 2 things.
    1 a bad compressor
    2 someone worked on it and left the orifice tube out
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. oldsmobile joe

    oldsmobile joe G-Body Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    mpls
    airboatgreg pretty much nailed it. first you need a compressor to pressurize the high side, and you need a restriction, (orifice) to drop that pressure down. when you say the compressor is running, is it making noise like all r4 compressors do? or is it just spinning the drive plate? most likely the shaft is broken internally, allowing the drive plate to spin but not turning the pistons.
    most orifice tubes don't fail. but it is possible. its a quick check to remove the orifice and check its condition and for metal particles.

    sorry, man. that sucks.
     
  8. Bonnewagon

    Bonnewagon Geezer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Queens,New York
    OK now that makes sense. I have never had that happen before. The system was never worked on before so nothing was left out or missing. This R12 compressor I got used from a guy on here many years ago. He bought it new but then switched to R134 so he sold it. I changed to ES-12 and even left the original mineral oil in the system. It worked great until just now. I had no idea the shaft could break but that does seem to be the problem. THANKS!!!!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Quiet compressor fail Forum Date
compressor wiring Cooling / Heating / AC Jun 10, 2018
MONTE CARLO Frame Notch for G-body with Low A/C Compressor Mount Cooling / Heating / AC Jun 4, 2018
alternative a/c compressor mounting Cooling / Heating / AC Apr 16, 2018
A/C compressor swap???? Cooling / Heating / AC Apr 13, 2018

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice