Recommendation for Vortec Heads?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SafariWagon

Master Mechanic
Jan 15, 2009
I have a 78' Monte that I have picked up a low mileage 350 + .060 over short block. Running the numbers it's a 1980-84 block. It is a factory reman. type engine with cast dish top pistons and I am sure a stock type cam. I have some 062 casting vortec heads to install on it. I thought I might leave the cam in since it is no doubt mild and will be below the .450 inch lift max for the vortec heads. I have built several motors, but this will be my first with Vortec heads. So being a Vortec newbie I have a couple of questions:

1) What head gaskets should I use?

2) What torque spec for the Vortec heads on the "older" block?

3) Is the head bolt length the same for "older" heads as it is for the Vortec heads?

jrm81bu

Comic Book Super Hero
Jul 9, 2008
Antwerp, OH
I used the some 1094 FelPro gaskets on mine. They are real thin(steel shim), to try to boost the compression a tad. I used the same head bolts(for the old block). Wish I could tell you I torqued them but... I'd go 65-70.

• Informative
Reactions: 1 user

86 Grand prix

Master Mechanic
Nov 13, 2012
Chocowinity NC
I used the gasket set for the 97 Vortec on mine. If you are using the old model head bolts then torque them to the old specs. If you use the new type head bolts then they are designed for torque to yield and are not supposed to be used twice. Make sure you follow the recommendations on the Vortec intake for coolant hose routing. The Vortec heads are missing a circulation hole that the older heads have. You have to route an external coolant bypass.

SafariWagon

Master Mechanic
Jan 15, 2009
I was thinking of using the 7733PT2 head gasket for the older style block. Not really worried about raising compression, I think the smaller combustion chambers will do plenty of that. This head gasket is .039 compressed thickness. More info on the coolant bypass please. I haven't heard of this yet.