Rusted Rear Frame Rails???

Status
Not open for further replies.

roudy4x4

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jul 18, 2007
So I have a 78 Malibu 4dr. The body, and interior is really nice, I like the car cause its different, BUT I was looking into why the rear bumper is sagging, and I found that about the last 12" of the rear frame rails are rusted one, is pretty bad, the other is pretty good...
Heres the thing. I am a welder by trade so welding is no prob, BUT I dont own a welder. Also all I have is a driveway. The extent of the rust is only on the rear ends of the frame. What do you all think is my best bet. I dont have alot of money to pay for someone else to do it.
How hard is it to lift the rear of the body just enough to fix this, if I can rent a welder, and also does anyone know where I can get a set of rear frame rails or do I have to make them myself?

Thanks

joe_padavano

Royal Smart Person
Sep 13, 2006
Northern VA
roudy4x4 said:
So I have a 78 Malibu 4dr. The body, and interior is really nice, I like the car cause its different, BUT I was looking into why the rear bumper is sagging, and I found that about the last 12" of the rear frame rails are rusted one, is pretty bad, the other is pretty good...
Heres the thing. I am a welder by trade so welding is no prob, BUT I dont own a welder. Also all I have is a driveway. The extent of the rust is only on the rear ends of the frame. What do you all think is my best bet. I dont have alot of money to pay for someone else to do it.
How hard is it to lift the rear of the body just enough to fix this, if I can rent a welder, and also does anyone know where I can get a set of rear frame rails or do I have to make them myself?

Thanks

Here's the source for repro rear frame rails:

http://www3.sympatico.ca/conradlozier/

Cole

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Sep 28, 2007
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada