S10, My first Attempt at Body Work, Open to Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

hurst1979olds

G-Body Guru
Feb 19, 2011
East Stroudsburg, PA
Well I have a severely rotted 3rd door on a 2000 S10. I bought a 98% Rust free door. It has one minor dent on the corner of the door and a chipping paint scrape and a little spot of rust.

I have never done body work before but is one thing I'd love to learn. I am very handy. I have remodeled a bathroom, built a bar, done tile work, I build engines for a living, etc. so I find myself a very well rounded.

By looking at the pictures please let me know what all will be needed, any techniques, what to look out for, Paint brands, stoping the rust from spreading, Bondo to use?, sand paper grit, hand or orbital sand, primer to use just some general tips on getting the couple small problem areas taken care of.

I will also be on the market for a reasonably priced paint gun, so give me ideas for that as well.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments

• IMAG0149.jpg
    IMAG0149.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 863
  • IMAG0153.jpg
    IMAG0153.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 852
  • IMAG0155.jpg
    IMAG0155.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 834
  • IMAG0156.jpg
    IMAG0156.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 839

pencero

Royal Smart Person
Feb 20, 2008
Ind.
well this not exactly my field either but I think a good pc of advice is you should test fit the door before you even do any of that other stuff bc it looks real bent up to me and a 3rd door needs to be more 'true' than a full size door because there is less room for error so you'll need to know ahead of time if it fits too snug bc then you might need to make some additional adjustments at this time instead of after paint which isnt an option. In other words,you dont want to paint the door go to hang it and have clearance problems bc then your stuck and wont want to revisit your body work w a dremmel wheel big ouch!

Oldsmoletick

Royal Smart Person
Sep 18, 2009
cny