Should my transmission cooler line be bent like this?

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 25, 2011
I'm a newbie trying to learn how to turn my own wrenches . . .

So if you could help me out I'd appreciate any input.

I put the elco up on ramps to see if I could find out where the transmission fluid was leaking from, and it looks like I need a new seal on the transmission fluid pan. I also noticed the line had a kink in it where it goes around the header. Is this normal?

trans_cooler_line_2.jpg

trans_cooler_line.jpg

Thanks for any input or advice.

RITTER

Royal Smart Person
May 26, 2007
Hillsdale, MI
That is not good :idea:
You definitely want to replace that asap :!: You can do an easy fix, by cutting a small section of the line and replacing it with a small length of transmission oil cooler line and small clamps
If you are going to be changing the transmission pan gasket, go ahead and and get a transmission filter kit.

JBreu

Royal Smart Person
Jul 15, 2008
Livonia, New York
I would change that, it could cause problems and overheating issues...........Especially with transmissions, better safe then sorry!! There is a right way and a wrong way to bend lines...your line was done the wrong way.... 8)

84e/c

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Aug 25, 2010
bethpage.ny
not a good place to be putting rubber hose. replace the line. if you can bend it or have someone bend it its, a real cheap fix. use a steel line .

hp3445

Greasemonkey
Jan 9, 2009
Southern New Jersey