So just exactly what does the OBD I ECM do for a living?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CopperNick

Comic Book Super Hero
Supporting Member
Feb 20, 2018
Canada
In another thread posted a few weeks back, there was a discussion concerning whether to decommission and remove an OBD I first generation computer? subsystem, based on a question and posting from a member.
While digging through one of my file binders for the paperwork on a pair of Magnaflow mufflers that I had plans to rehab and return back to service in my Monte, I came across this:

Scan0006.jpg

A long time ago, back before I was able to locate and score a complete service manual of my own, I discovered that my local library actually had copies of the service manuals on file. That and a whole bunch of change let me selectively copy the most important pages and diagrams that, at the time, I had most need of.

What you see above is the complete wiring diagram for the first generation OBD I Electronic Control Module, aka the "computer". Everything shown on this diagram provides or returns input back to the module. For anyone contemplating the elimination of a malfunctioning or dead module, these are all the sensors and circuits that would have to be deleted or edited as well.

Me? Been there-done that, burnt the T-shirt years ago. All this was what I had to personally wade through just to get my own car to run properly when I first scored it.