Something of interest for you LT1 guys. Take a look.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DRIVEN

Geezer
Apr 25, 2009
*CENSORED*
I'm a mechanic by trade and do the occasional side job for the extra cash. This particular one is a 1995 Mastercraft with an LT1. The engine was "manufactured" by Indmar Marine. It appears to have many Corvette spec parts. Everything is painted black including the aluminum heads. I just have it for a water pump replacement, tune-up, oil change and winterization. Here's the stuff I thought you guys might want to see...
Speed density conversion
003-36.jpg

No Optispark! There is a reluctor wheel on the front and a crank sensor on the timing cover.
004-27.jpg

005-21.jpg

The ignition system appears to be all GM. Northstar or Aurora maybe?
006-20.jpg

The ECM is mounted to the back of the engine and is about the size of my hand. Can't see any part numbers or manufacturer markings. I assume they're on the back.
007-14.jpg

For you guys looking to do swaps this may be another source for parts or ideas. It's also an interesting way to delete the Optispark. Feel free to chime in if you have any more info on this or similar setups.

dogsht

Royal Smart Person
Nov 11, 2008
Dayton, OH
Very cool thanks for the pics & info.

Blake442

Geezer
Apr 24, 2007
Minneapolis
Car Craft or HotRod ran an article a couple months ago about swapping LS1 coil-packs onto a LT1 and going opti-less.

My buddy had to replace the Opti-spark on his old '96 SS, but I've never had any problems with my '96 Caprice...

Bonnewagon

Lost in the Labyrinth
Supporting Member
Sep 18, 2009
Queens, NY
IF the Delphi unit I used craps out, and IF my dimwit daughter doesn't sell it, and IF it lands in my lap again, then I would consider it. I read up on it and the Northstar seems to be the one everyone uses. I even saw a kit for sale on one of the LS/LT sites. I can't remember where the reluctor was sourced though, Caddy? Damn good motor except for the Opticrap.

DRIVEN

Geezer