Sputtering when flooring it

Status
Not open for further replies.

RecuedElk

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 9, 2022
Hello and thanks in advance! I have slowly been learning and building a 78 el camino, with a abc 350/th350. I managed to get the engine running and finally took it out on the road. At first take off car felt fine but when I floored the gas the car begins to sputter and feels sluggish. On idle car feels fine has powers, if I slowly press on gas it’s fine, but when flooring I get the sputtering. Any ideas or help, things I should look for? All help is appreciated.

Note: I am no mechanic , but a student of YouTube and forums haha

John Canon

Apprentice
Apr 19, 2022
Vancouver Canada
Hello and thanks in advance! I have slowly been learning and building a 78 el camino, with a abc 350/th350. I managed to get the engine running and finally took it out on the road. At first take off car felt fine but when I floored the gas the car begins to sputter and feels sluggish. On idle car feels fine has powers, if I slowly press on gas it’s fine, but when flooring I get the sputtering. Any ideas or help, things I should look for? All help is appreciated.

Note: I am no mechanic , but a student of YouTube and forums haha
It sounds like the accelerator pump on the carb. Here is a quick test: engine off, ignition off, remove air cleaner, hold choke valve open. Look inside and fully move the throttle once. You should see a good squirt of gasoline going into the throttle bore. Watch for splashes! If nothing, then try again. The accelerator pump gives that extra bit of gas when you press the throttle quickly and give it more air.
P.S. Actually we are not students but prisoners. You are lucky, when I first learned mechanics, I would go to the library each evening to read service manuals while my friends hit the pubs.

Reactions: 1 users

RecuedElk

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 9, 2022