SS Monte and Non

Status
Not open for further replies.

JYUMMY

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Dec 23, 2014
As you can see I am new to looking into Monte Carlos. I am interested in purchasing a 82-88. After months and months of looking up cars on craigslist and looking on this forum board and many google searches, learning about the car, models, years, etc etc. I still am not quite sure how you can differentiate a SS from a non and what are the body cosmetic differences? I know I read that SS has power windows etc, but as far as T-Tops goes or sunroofs, I don't see that they are strictly on SS models. Any info would be cool.

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
untitled.png
images.jpg
r
imagesRS8Q0GT0.jpg
imagesX2OH31K6.jpg
imagesE61W3WAW.jpg

First I will say there was never a sunroof/moonroof option for the 4th generation Monte Carlo regardless of which style it was, the only roof option was T-tops.
Many options for interior and drivetrain were offered for most Monte Carlos with the SS having a few only for them but the exterior was the most notable difference since the Sport Coupe, LS, and SS. all had different front ends.
Sport Coupes - 1981-1986: (lower right)
Sport Coupes were available from 1981-1986 with a nose that is more square and has chrome headlight bezels, chrome wheelwell molding along with a chrome front bumper strip and grill. The bottom half of the nose is also made of urethane.
Sport Coupes have four separate headlights and two turn signal/driving lights on the bottom of the bumper. It also has a stand-up hood ornament.
They come with chrome trim around the windows and taillights and a wider chrome trim along the lower sides of the car and a chrome strip on top of the rear bumper.
"CL"
Sport Coupes were available with CL (Custom Luxury) trim - a trim package that included a deluxe interior with velour pillow top seats.
LS Monte Carlos were also available with this trim option. Both LS and SC Monte Carlos could have the CL option.