Stall converter slipping???'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

dickeymoore

G-Body Guru
May 6, 2009
Atlanta,Georgia
I have a 1980 Chevy Monte Carlo with a small block Chevy 400 engine with a 525 lift hydraulic roller camshaft and a 700 R4 Transmission with a TCI Saturday Night Special stall converter 2000 rpm stall the transmission rides and shifts great on the normal operation but as you put pressure to it and it changes from 2nd to 3rd gear there's a delay like a hesitation and if you were going up hill while putting pressure on it is like it's slipping and also like the transmission is slipping when you take off on a incline is the slipping from the stall converter? THANKS

Kwik_Cutty88

Royal Smart Person
Nov 22, 2011
Coastal North Carolina
700R4's can be a little tricky to diagnose, I'm by no means an expert, but I have a little experience with them in my car. But I'd start with the basics here.

Is the fluid clean and full? Does it look/smell burnt?
What is the history of the transmission/converter? New? Rebuilt?
The TV cable adjusted properly?
Have you changed anything at all recently, or did it just start acting like this out of the blue?

Just a few things to ask yourself to get you headed (hopefully) in the right direction.

dickeymoore

G-Body Guru
May 6, 2009
Atlanta,Georgia
I bought the transmission used the converter is new the fluid and filter was changed with new fluid and filter it doesn't do it all the time only does it when there's like pressure on it when going up a incline if i drive normal you can feel all the shift points and all the gears change the TV cable is adjusted properly.THANKS

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY
Doubt it's the converter. How's the line pressure? If the line pressure is good, then it's time for a rebuild most likely. Throw a rebuild kit and shift kit atit of your making less than 350HP.

marcar1993

G-Body Guru
Aug 31, 2007
New Jersey