Starter Swap - 87 Cutlass

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay12

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 6, 2009
So Cal
I think my starter is going out, and I found some for really cheap at Autozone. So rather than pay $200 to have a body shop do it I figured I would get off of my *ss and do it myself for only the cost of the starter (~$89). Only thing is that I've never done it before.

Can someone tell me where exactly is the starter on an 87 Cutlass and how hard, or easy, is it to change it out.

Step by step instructions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

67rstbkt

G-Body Guru
Sep 30, 2010
Reno, Nevada
The starter is located under the car, basically at the back of the engine, between the motor and transmission. If you have the Olds 307 or Buick V6, I believe the starter is located on the driver's side of the car.
To replace:
1: Disconnect cables at the battery
2: Jack up the car so that you have room to work under it
2a: Use jackstands, ramps or some other "safe" method to keep the car in the air and prevent it from crushing you
3: Remove starter bolts (should be 2), remove battery cable from the starter, unplug or unbolt any other leads. Basicaly you just want to free it up and get it out. You may have to remove the cabling first (probably best to do it this way if you can get your hands up there) or unbolt the starter first, use your best judgement. If there is a plastic or metal cover that you can remove (flywheel inspection cover) go ahead and remove that first because it will give you more room to work with.
4: Install the new starter, read the directions that come with it. There is usually a note about shimming, read that.

deanlemans81

G-Body Guru
Sep 7, 2010
Acton Vale, Quebec, Canada
Good for you for doing it your self!! We all start somewhere working of our cars and it`s as good a start as any.