Starting a stored Regal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob85

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 18, 2013
Hello gbody, im hoping to get my car running again. Its been parked for almost two years now without ever having been moved. Im not a mechanic but will try to work on my vehicles as much as I could with the help of manuals and the internet. So you guys being the experts im hoping you can help me out a lil with some info regarding step to consider when starting a regal after having been parked for nearly two years. I know that when it was running it would not shift gears normally after having been warmed up. I would first drive it and trans shifted as it should , untill maybe after 30min of driving , when it would lagg in the second gear. So im just going to swap the trans. Im thinking th350. With all that transmission stuff aside I know that I need,
1. Battery
2. Fluids topped
3. Gas
4. Prime my oil pump (is this necessary? If so can you explain how to do it)

thanks for you help.

BPTTONE420012

G-Body Guru
Jan 20, 2014
FAIRFIELD COUNTY, CT
the gas is going to be garbage, but thats already on your list... not sure if you mentioned where it was parked, garage, or outside, if outside, i'd pull the air cleaner and make sure no rodents have made a home... but, for the most part, just think of it like a tune up, drain fluids and replace with new, same with fuel, oil, air filters... wouldnt hurt to replace plugs, wires... distributor cap coil rotor... then cross your fingers n turn the key...

axisg

Comic Book Super Hero
Jul 17, 2007
YYZ
2 years isn't that long and unless its a HP performance motor I would personally check the oil and antifreeze level then toss some cables on the battery, fresh gas down the carb and see if it fires. If it does start just let it idle for 15-20 mins until its all up to temp and check for leaks.

If you had 2nd gear problems ( common 200r4 problem ) then a rebuild is in your future or known good trans swap.

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006